Departmental Committee

Faculty of Medicine Clinical Faculty Appointment Policy

More than 450 Clinical Faculty members provide valuable teaching and administrative service to the Department of Psychiatry’s education programs and related activities.
Please note that all clinical faculty members must submit an Annual Report toMargaret Koshi, Assistant HR Manager, Faculty Appointments ,  Department of Psychiatry, Administration Office 2C1-2255 Wesbrook Mall  by October 1st of every year.
Please see the Clinical Faculty Affairs Office website for the clinical faculty resource guide, contract updates, teaching resources, clinical faculty events and other information of interest to Clinical Faculty in the UBC Faculty of Medicine.

Committee Mandate

The mandate of the Department’s Clinical Faculty Appointment and Promotion Committee is to review all requests for initial appointment, reappointment and promotion to the clinical faculty in the Department of Psychiatry. The Committee follows the criteria set out in the UBC Faculty of Medicine document entitled Academic Ranks, Appointment, Reappointment and Promotions for Clinical Faculty which is available on the department website.

The committee includes members elected by and from the clinical faculty at each rank for a total of 7 members. The committee is currently chaired by Dr. William Honer, the Department Head .

Committee members are elected for a three year term with the possibility of sitting for a second three year term if re-elected. Elections are typically held each September in order to update the membership of the committee if necessary. The Committee is advisory to the Head of the Department.

 Committee Members

Department of Psychiatry

Clinical Faculty Appointments & Promotions Committee

July 1, 2014- June 20, 2017

Chair: Dr. William Honer
Vice Chair: Dr. Heather Robertson

Dr. Caroline Choo
Dr. Johann Brink
Dr. Stacy Elliott
Dr. John Higenbottam
Dr. Hiram Mok