Psychiatry Computer Accounts

Accounts

Please let us know as soon as possible, if you want accounts created, changed or deleted.  We modify accounts every Friday, in batches. We charge hourly for account modifications, at other times.

For new accounts, we require;

  • First Name
  • Last Name
  • Work e-mail
  • Work telephone
  • Position/Title
  • Access required (e.g.; access all files of your program or just logon to a computer)
  • Termination date (if applicable)

Any remaining files in U: drive will be moved to the appropriate lab/program folder on P: drive, when accounts are deleted, unless we receive other instructions.

An account holder is responsible for all activities that originate from his or her account.  Faculty, who have shared accounts in their labs, will be responsible for the use and security of those accounts.  With the exception of lab accounts, accounts and passwords are not to be shared by individuals.  Log-off, when you are leaving your computer unattended.  Passwords are not to be posted on or near workstation areas or revealed to anyone.

Please protect our files, from being accessed by visitors to your office, by logging off, when you leave your office.  Unless you have scheduled maintenance work with Psychiatry IT staff, please shut down your computer at night, to save energy.

Logging On

Press the Ctrl, Alt and Delete keys, at the same time. Check that your user name is correct, enter your password, then press the Enter key.

If it's not your user name, click the "Switch User" or "Other User" button, then enter your user name and password. If it doesn't say "Logon to: D_Psychiatry", just below, you may need to enter your fully qualified user name, which is username@psychiatry.ubc.ca

Logging Off

Windows 7

Click the "Windows" button, then arrow beside "Shut down" and finally "Log off", "Shut down" or "Restart"

Windows 7 log off

Windows 8.1

Right click the "Windows" button, then "Sign out", "Shut down" or "Restart"

Windows 8 shutdown

Logging On

Logon to your computer with your Psychiatry account and password. See the Shared Storage page for instructions to mount "Division" and "User".

Logging Off

Shutdown your computer

or

Restart your computer

or

On the Apple menu click "Logout username"

You are allowed 10 bad logon attempts (wrong passphrase or user name) in a 20 minute period. If you exceed that limit, your account will be locked. Your account will automatically be unlocked after 45 minutes, provided you don't keep trying to logon.  Psychiatry IT staff can unlock your account, sooner, but will need to verify your identity first.

Your password can only be changed a maximum of once per 24 hours and must be changed at least every 185 days.  Beginning two weeks before your password expiry, you will get a pop-up warning, after logging on.  Windows computer users, please ask Psychiatry IT staff for an earlier warning, if you would like one.

From the Apple Menu in the top Left, select System Preferences.

 

Click on the Users & Groups button.
System Preferences - Users & Groups

Click 'Change Password'.

Enter your old password once and your new password twice.  Click 'Change Password'  to save.

Keychain, is Apple's password management system.  By default it stores your passwords for applications, servers, web sites, credit card numbers etcetera and uses your computer logon password to protect them.

After your next logon, you will be asked to update your keychain password, so that it is kept synchronized with your logon password .  It is asking for your last password.  Please enter it and click "OK".

If you click "Cancel", you will be reminded, once more, but if you click "Cancel" a second time, the saved password will no longer be available and you will need to reset your Keychain password using the Keychain Access application, which can be found in Applications\Utilities.  Once you're in the Keychain Access application, go to the "Edit" menu and select "Change password for keychain".Change Keychain password  In Current (keychain) Password, enter your previous computer logon password.  In New Password and Verify, enter your new computer logon password.

If this doesn't work, please contact Psychiatry IT to manually delete the Keychain.

  1. After logging on, press Ctrl+Alt+Del simultaneously and select Change Password from the popup window.
  2. Enter your current password, tab to the next entry box, enter your new password, tab, type your new password again to confirm it and press enter to save it. Note: Don’t press the Enter key until all three password boxes are filled in.

Choose a password that no one else can figure out, but is easy to remember and type.  Since there's effectively no limit on it's length, it may be easier to think up a prase you can remember, with some extra numbers or symbols.  If people can figure out your passphrase, they can modify or delete any files that you have access to. You are responsible for the use of your account. It should not be used by anyone else. Do not tell anyone your logon passphrase. People masquerade as System Administrators in E-mail messages. Don't give them your passphrase.

Your passphrase must;

  • be changed at least every 95 days, or it will expire.
  • be between 8 to 127 characters and contain at least 3 of the following 4 items; numbers, symbols, upper case, lower case

Your passphrase should not, or in some cases can't;

  • contain your ID or anyone's name, forward or reversed.
  • contain any string of characters associated with you (your licence plate, your telephone number, etc.).
  • be something that you can see while sitting at your desk.
  • re-use the last few passphrases
  • be any word in any dictionary (English, French, Spanish, etc.).
  • be changed more than once every 24 hours

To give you some ideas;

  • BoB3rdBirthday
  • 10cafe3! (coffee at 10am and 3pm)
  • Hawaii0812trip
  • parking ticket on 33rd Avenue

Don’t use "remember password" or “keychain” feature of some programs. They have the potential to give anyone who has access to your office, access too not only your data but your workgroup's data. The other problem with "remember password" feature is that you are liable to forget what it is. If we find your password written on your monitor, keyboard, mouse pad or anywhere else, we will erase or destroy it. Treat them like your ATM PIN code.