Congratulations to the Recipients of the 2020 Department of Psychiatry Teaching and Research Awards


**Sent on behalf of Dr. Lakshmi N. Yatham, Professor and Head, UBC Department of Psychiatry**


Dear students, residents, staff and colleagues,

I am delighted to announce and extend my warmest congratulations to the recipients of the Department of Psychiatry Teaching and Research Awards for 2020, each of whom are deserving of recognition for outstanding contributions to the Psychiatry Undergraduate and Postgraduate Education Programs, and to scholarly activity, translational research, and clinical care in psychiatry. Although COVID-19 social disruptions precluded celebration of these accomplishments and presentation of the awards in person, I nevertheless wish to take this opportunity to honour and wholeheartedly thank, on behalf of the Department, all the awardees for their tremendous hard work and dedication.

The 2020 award recipients are recognized in the following award categories:

UBC Psychiatry Undergraduate Excellence in Clinical Teaching Award

Dr. Kathryn Fung
Dr. Paul Blackburn
Dr. Andrea Chapman
Dr. Jeffrey Douziech

UBC Psychiatry Residents Association Award for Excellence in Clinical Teaching in Postgraduate Education

BCCH – Dr. Ashley Miller & Dr. Andrea Chapman
VGH – Dr. Bryan Chow
SPH – Dr. Edwin Chete
UBCH – Dr. David Kealy
MSJ – Dr. Harpreet Chauhan
RH – Dr. Michael Shabbits
LGH – Dr. Arvind Kang
RCH – Dr. Anyssa Shakeri
SMH – Dr. Lindsay Bishop
BH – Dr. Anna Nazif
PAH – Dr. Douglas Maskall
Victoria – Dr. Magdalena Casagrande
Prince George – Dr. Ejike Udumaga
Community Psychiatry – Dr. Joanna Cheek

UBC Psychiatry Residents Association Award for Excellence in Clinical Teaching in the Subspecialty Programs

Child & Adolescent Psychiatry Subspecialty Program – Dr. Debra Yew
Geriatric Subspecialty Program – Dr. Paul Blackburn
Forensic Subspecialty Program – TBA

Translation Research into Clinical Excellence in Psychiatry Settings (TRICEPS) Award

Dr. Caroline Gosselin
Dr. Andrea Chapman

Resident Teaching & Research Awards

George A. Davidson Scholarship Award – Dr. Jay Wang

CanMEDS Awards:
1st place – Dr. Ashley Jewett
2nd place – Dr. Aldrich Leung, Dr. Melissa Bota, Dr. Lingsa Jia, Dr. Jane Yoo, Dr. Paige Zhang
3rd place – Dr. Benedict Darren
4th place – Dr. John-Jose Nunez
5th place – Dr. Lingsa Jia

Resident Undergraduate Teaching Awards:
Vancouver Track – Dr. Julia Baum
Fraser Track – Dr. Grace Son
Vancouver Island – Dr. Christina Frizzo
Prince George – Dr. Christine Kennedy

Significant Contribution to Research – Dr. Marlon Danilewitz

The Emily Ellingsen Prize for Significant Contribution to the UBC Psychiatry Residency Program – Dr. Annie Ma

Significant Leadership – Dr. Claire Docherty

Postgraduate Psychotherapy Award – Dr. Jennifer Rurak and Dr. Gabrielle Bosse-Chartier (co-winners)

Providence Health Care, Department of Psychiatry Awards:

Dr. Brian Morris Memorial Award – Dr. Melissa Bota
Dr. Maria Corral Award – Dr. Marie-Michelle Tremblay
Dr. Robert Kitchen Memorial Award – Dr. Kathryn Porter

In presenting the Teaching and Research Awards each year, the Department strives to formally acknowledge and thank those individuals who have demonstrated an outstanding level of commitment to and excellence in education, research, and clinical care.  Please join me in congratulating all of the deserving awardees for 2020!



Dr. Lakshmi N. Yatham, MBBS, FRCPC, MRCPsych (UK), MBA (Exec)
Professor and Head, UBC Department of Psychiatry
Director, Institute of Mental Health, UBC
Regional Head and Program Medical Director, VCH/PHC
Editor in Chief, Canadian Journal of Psychiatry
President, World Federation of Societies of Biological Psychiatry