Congratulations to Dr. Stephen Kline and Dr. Rosemary Basson on Their Retirement in 2020!


The Department would like to congratulate and send our best wishes to Dr. Stephen Kline and Dr. Rosemary Basson, two long-serving Department members who have decided to retire from their UBC clinical faculty appointments in 2020.


Clinical Professor Dr. Stephen Kline joined the UBC Department of Psychiatry in 1988, and for the past thirty-two years, has taught and supervised medical students and residents at St. Paul’s Hospital. There, he held the position of  the Head of Psychiatry from 1988 to 1999, and following this, he served as the Medical Director for VIHA Mental Health and Substance Use before returning to St. Paul’s. He has a made a number of notable contributions provincially and nationally, including leading provincial legislation on Substitute Decision Making in BC, and sitting on the Council of the Royal College Of Physicians and Surgeons, also serving as chair of both the Royal College Committee on Specialties and the Committee on Health and Public Policy. As well, he served as a longstanding member of the Accreditation Committee and spent many years chairing and participating in accreditation surveys for the Royal College. Dr. Kline areas of expertise include psychoanalysis, mental health law, and psychosomatics, and he has published extensively on these and a range of other subjects.


Since joining the UBC Department of Psychiatry in 1988, Clinical Professor Dr. Rosemary Basson has played a pivotal role in the Sexual Medicine Program, serving as the Program Director for many years.  She was instrumental in developing the program, integrating it into undergraduate medical education in Psychiatry, Family Practice, Anatomy, Physiology, and Neurophysiology, and was also extensively involved in teaching at undergraduate, postgraduate and CME levels. Dr. Basson has published 100 peer-reviewed papers, and her publications include a series in The Lancet on sexual dysfunction subsequent to illness, an NEJM review on clinical aspects of women’s sexual dysfunction, the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists’ series on sexual dysfunction, as well as online reviews for the BMJ ‘Point of Care’ and BMJ Best Practice. Most recently, she was a co-investigator on two significant CIHR-funded studies led by Dr. Lori Brotto. In 2020, Dr. Basson was awarded the University of Minnesota Medical School Distinguished Sexual Health and Gender Revolutionary Award.


Our sincere thanks to both Dr. Kline and Dr. Basson for their many years of dedicated service to the Department, and we wish them all the best in retirement!