Academic Renewal Funding for New Faculty Position in Translational Medicine



Dear Colleagues,

Earlier this year, the Department of Psychiatry submitted a proposal for the first round of the Faculty of Medicine Academic Renewal Program intended to support the recruitment of talented junior faculty in the areas of Translational Science and Medicine, Data Science, and Virtual/Rural and Remote Health.

Now that the selection process for the first round has concluded, I am delighted to share that our proposal in the area of translational neuropsychiatric research, with a focus on the sequelae of mild traumatic brain injury, was among the six selected for funding in the category of Translational Science and Medicine. This funding will contribute to the salary and benefits for a new academic tenure-track position in the UBC Department of Psychiatry. In a highly competitive process, our proposal was selected by the adjudication panel not only on the merits of the research plan, but also on the basis of the world-class facilities and infrastructure we have in place to support a new junior faculty position, our strong mentorship plan, and the promise of many partnership opportunities that will arise from this recruitment.

Our success in obtaining this critical funding signifies yet another important milestone in realizing our strategic priority to expand research capacity and facilitate innovative translational research that contributes to improvements in clinical care, as delineated in our UBC Psychiatry Strategic Plan 2020-2025.

The search and recruitment process for the position will begin in the near future, with the desired start date aimed for late 2021 or early 2022.  I look forward to providing you with further news and updates as we move ahead with our recruitment process.



Dr. Lakshmi N. Yatham, MBBS, FRCPC, MRCPsych (UK), MBA (Exec)
Professor and Head, UBC Department of Psychiatry
Director, Institute of Mental Health, UBC
Regional Head and Program Medical Director, VCH/PHC
Editor in Chief, Canadian Journal of Psychiatry
President, World Federation of Societies of Biological Psychiatry