Contacts

Director, Administration: Vicky Yau, vicky.yau@ubc.ca, 604-822-7313

  • Oversees all administrative operations, Department HR activities, business operations and operational planning
  • Manages strategic initiatives
  • Budgets, financial commitments
  • Administrative representation for Department (internal and external units)
  • Department resource, facility and space management
  • Faculty recruitment planning and process oversight
  • Faculty merit and PSA
  • Faculty leaves
  • Faculty recruitment, advertising, and work permits
  • Royal College Academic Certification
  • Research Grant / Salary application review for the Head’s signature

Manager, Communications and Partnerships: Margaret Koshi, margaret.koshi@ubc.ca, 604-822-2142

  • Manages internal and external communications initiatives for the Department and IMH
  • Supports the Department in partnership engagements with internal & external stakeholders
  • Reports, letters, proposals and other written communications
  • Communications Bulletin newsletter
  • Department social media content
  • Department website content

Assistant HR Manager: Amity Chiang, amity.chiang@ubc.ca, 604-822-7315

  • Oversees staff and student appointments and reappointments
  • Staff recruitment, job descriptions, position classifications, performance management, merit and leave management
  • Faculty appointments and reappointments (including Research Associates and Fellows)
  • Faculty promotions and tenure
  • Other faculty appointments requiring committee review
  • Health and Safety

HR Assistant: Bree Wilson, bree.wilson@ubc.ca, 604-822-7610

  • Staff and student appointments inquiries and orientation (CWL, emails, etc.)
  • Faculty inquiries and orientation (setting up CWL, email, etc)
  • Postdoctoral Fellow, Research Associates and Clinical Fellow inquiries and orientation (CWL, email, etc)
  • Immigration offer letters for Postdoctoral Fellows and Clinical Fellows
  • Honorary faculty and visitor appointments
  • Hourly payroll
  • Volunteers
  • Criminal record checks

Finance & Admin Assistant:  Danielle Hull, danielle.hull@ubc.ca, 604-822-7314

  • Financial processing
  • Reception
  • Room bookings
  • Key requests
  • Supplies and vendor contact
  • Facilities and health and safety assistance
  • Voice administrator (telephones)

Assistant to the Department Head and IMH Director: Rachel Schweikert, psychiatry.headasst@ubc.ca, 604-822-7310

  • Requests, inquiries and updates regarding meetings with the Department Head and IMH Director
  • Requests related to weekly Communications Bulletin items
  • Head’s Boardroom booking requests
  • Department special events inquiries
  • Inquiries regarding monthly Departmental meetings

Interim Finance Analyst: Fei Peng, fei.peng@ubc.ca, 604-822-7734

  • Financial policies and procedures (UBC, Faculty of Medicine & Department)
  • Financial problem resolution and support
  • Project grant set up (Research grants and Non-Research grants)
  • FMS access & signing authority
  • Purchasing
  • General finance questions or concerns
  • General finance support (review of funding for hires, reconciliation processes, etc)
  • Purchase card coordinator
  • Financial processing oversight