FoM Weekly Announcements and Funding Opportunties

In this week’s issue:

Funding Opportunities:

· Parkinson Society Canada: Request for Applications

· Kenneth Rainin Foundation – 2012 Innovator Awards

Awards and Honours:

·The Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC) – RSC Prizes and Awards

· CIHR Synapse Mentorship Awards 2012


Parkinson Society Canada: Request for Applications

Deadline: February 1, 2012

Pilot Project Grants

* One-year duration

* Maximum funding of $45,000

* Pilot Project Program grants intend to foster novel, high-potential projects and ideas with a trajectory for major grants with larger granting institutions

New Investigator Award Program

* Two-year duration

* $45,000 per year

* For junior faculty in a Canadian university in first 5 years of their career as a research scientist in Canada

Basic Research Fellowship

* Two-year duration

* $40,000 – $50,000 per year

* Candidates must hold a doctoral degree (MD or PhD) and may be Canadian citizens who propose to train at an Approved Institution located inside or outside of Canada, or international applicants proposing to train at an Approved Institution located in Canada

Parkinson Society Canada (PSC) and Fonds de recherche du Québec – Santé (FRQS) Partnership Awards

* Two-year duration with the possibility of renewal for a third year from FRQS.

* Candidates for the PSC/FRQS funding opportunity must have submitted a similar application to the FRQS fellowship competition to be considered for a partnership award. However, applicants are still eligible to submit applications for sole support from PSC if they have not applied to FRQS.

For questions or more information please see the PSC Application Guidelines

Or contact: Ivy Lim-Carter, Director, National Research & Clinical Programs Parkinson Society Canada

Tel: 416-227-3382 or 1 800 565-3000, ext. 338

Kenneth Rainin Foundation – 2012 Innovator Awards

LOI Deadline: February 15, 2012

The Kenneth Rainin Foundation supports “out-of-the-box” innovative research projects that are potentially transformative to our efforts to diagnose, treat and/or cure Inflammatory Bowel Disease (IBD).

The Foundation supports projects that are in close alignment with its Awards Program criteria, which include:

· Innovation

· Scientific merit

· Strong evidence of collaboration

· High potential for success

· Funding projects that, due to their innovative nature, may not be eligible for funding from the National Institutes of Health (NIH) or other more traditional sources.

The award is valued at $100,000 for one year. Please see the website for more information.


The Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC) – RSC Prizes and Awards

Deadline: January 15, 2012

The RSC Prizes and Awards recognise achievements by individuals, teams and organisations in advancing the chemical sciences.

There are over 60 prizes and awards available covering all areas of the chemical sciences so whether you work in business, industry, research or education, recognition is open to everyone.

In recognition of achievement award winners receive up to £5000 prize money.

Nomination categories include:

· Analytical Chemistry

· Biosciences

· Education

· Environment, Sustainability & Energy

· Industry & Technology

· Inorganic Chemistry

· Materials Chemistry

· Organic Chemistry

· Physical Chemistry

CIHR Synapse Mentorship Awards 2012

Deadline: January 27, 2012

The Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR) Synapse Mentorship Awards are given out to emphasize the importance of mentors in developing Canada’s next generation of health researchers. The CIHR Synapse Mentorship Awards honour persons who have made exceptional contributions to the promotion of health research among Canadian secondary school students.

The three awards, which are presented to one graduate student/postdoctoral fellow student, one accomplished researcher and one research group, recognize the efforts of those who promote health research among Canada’s high school students. All award recipients share their passion for research and their scientific know-how with today’s youth – who will be tomorrow’s innovators!

Each individual winner will receive a $5,000 award. Each winning group will receive a $10,000 award that is intended to help support its membership activities among young people.

For more information, please visit the website.