Contacts for Education Programs

The Psychiatry Education Office has played an important role in the development, expansion, and delivery of the education programs which includes the Undergraduate Doctor of Medicine Program, Residency Specialty and Subspecialty Training, and Vancouver Summer Program. Each of the programs have dedicated teaching faculty who are committed in teaching, and staff who support the delivery of the programs at distributed teaching sites across British Columbia.The Education Office is based out of Vancouver General Hospital, Gordon and Leslie Diamond Health Care Centre (11th floor, 2775 Laurel Street).  General fax line for the Education Office: 604-875-5438

 

 

Dr. Kathryn Fung
Undergraduate Program Director
Email: kathryn.fung@vch.ca

 

(Currently vacant)
Senior Education Programs Manager
Email: Vacant
604-875-4111 ext. 68092

 

Richa Sharma
Program Assistant, Year 3 and Year 4
Email: richas.sharma@ubc.ca
604-875-4111 ext. 68098

 

Dr. Irfan Khanbhai
Acting Postgraduate Program Director
Email: irfan.khanbhai@ubc.ca
604-365-4253

 

(Currently vacant)
Senior Education Programs Manager
Email: Vacant
604-875-4111 ext. 68092

  • Education Programs Operations Management and Oversight (Undergrad, Postgrad, Subspecialties)
  • Accreditation
  • Education Development and Planning
  • Leaves and Accommodations Oversight
  • CaRMS
  • Competency by Design
  • Clinical Teaching with Patient Care Oversight
  • Funding (Education Fund, Social Activities, Grad, etc)

 

Linda Chang
Education Coordinator
Email: linda.chang@ubc.ca
604-875-4111 ext. 68102

  • CaRMS
  • Chief Stipends
  • Clinical Placements
  • Clinical Teaching with Patient Care Submissions & Inquiries
  • Confirmation of Enrollment Letters
  • COPE & PRITE Exams
  • Funding (Education Fund, Social Activities, Grad, etc)
  • Leaves and Accommodations Management
  • Monthly Evaluations: PGY2
  • Outreach
  • Part-Time Training
  • Rotation Evaluations (One45)
  • Resident Reimbursements: PGME and Department
  • STACERs: PGY3 & PGY4-5
  • Miscellaneous

 

Ahsan Sahibzada, Senior Program Assistant, PGE
MJ Alarcon, Interim Program Assistant, PGE)

Email: ahsan.sahibzada@ubc.ca / psych.pge@ubc.ca
604-875-4111 ext. 68372

  • Academic Day Curriculum: PGY1, PGY2, PGY3, PGY4 & PGY5
  • Academic Day Room Bookings
  • Academic Day Attendance
  • Confirmation of Enrollment Letters
  • Monthly Evaluations: PGY2
  • Objectives & Goals and Safety Forms
  • PGY2-5 Mock OSCEs
  • Faculty Invoices for Academic Day Teaching, including Mock OSCEs
  • Resident Reimbursements: PGME and Department
  • Resident Semi-Annual Review Meetings (Vancouver, IMG, Research Residents)

 

Rosalia Monagas
Fraser Postgraduate Program Assistant
Email: rosalia.monagas@fraserhealth.ca
604-520-4253 ext. 523901

  • Vacation, Conference, Flex Days, Sick Days, Lieu Days (PGY2-5 Vancouver, Fraser, and Prince George Residents)

Responsible for all Fraser Track related inquiries which includes:

  • Clinical Placements (PGY2-4)
  • Academic Day Attendance
  • Objectives & Goals and Safety Forms
  • PGY3 STACERs
  • Resident Semi-Annual Review Meetings
  • Confirmation of Enrollment Letters

 

Monika Spence
Vancouver Island Program Assistant
Email: psychadmin@uvic.ca

Responsible for all Vancouver Island Track related inquiries which includes:

  • Clinical Placements (PGY2-4)
  • Confirmation of Enrollment Letters
  • Academic Day Attendance
  • Objectives and Goals and Safety Forms
  • PGY3 STACERs
  • Resident Semi-Annual Review Meetings
  • Vacation, Conference, Flex Days, Lieu Days

 

Jennifer Young
Interim PGME Manager, Northern BC
Email: Jennifer.Young@unbc.ca

  • PGY1 Rotation Schedule
  • PGY1 Leaves: Vacation, Conference, Flex Days, Lieu Days (Prince George PGY1 Residents)
  • PGY1 Reimbursements
  • Academic Day Support

 

 

Dr. Jennifer Russel
Child and Adolescent Psychiatry Subspecialty Program Director
Email: JRussel4@cw.bc.ca

 

Dr. Ashok Krishnamoorthy
Geriatric Psychiatry Subspecialty Program Director
Email: ashok.krishnamoorthy@vch.ca

 

Dr. Kulwant Riar
Forensic Psychiatry Subspecialty Program Director
Email: kulwant.riar@ubc.ca

Dr. Barinder Singh
Forensic Psychiatry Subspecialty Associate Program Director
Email: barinder.singh@ubc.ca

 

(Currently vacant)
Senior Education Programs Manager
Email: Vacant
604-875-4111 ext. 68092

 

Niki Ward
Education Coordinator, Subspecialties
Email: niki.ward@ubc.ca
Phone 604 875 4111 Ext. 68108

 

Julia Lew
Educational Technologist
Email: julia.lew@ubc.ca
604-822-7347