About the Department


“The UBC Department of Psychiatry aspires to be a global leader at forefront of discovery, clinical care, and education in the neurosciences and mental health. Transforming mental health care will require the application of multidimensional approaches to not only foster learning, productivity and innovation, but to be able to respond deftly to the novel opportunities and challenges that will arise in the shifting landscape of mental health and addictions, both today and tomorrow.”


As part of one of the world’s leading universities, the UBC Department of Psychiatry supports outstanding research and education, while engaging local, national and global communities. We create an exceptional learning environment, advance mental health research and promote sustainable care for mental illness and addictions. The UBC Department of Psychiatry consists of more than 1000 Department members, including academic and clinical faculty, trainees, students and staff. The Department’s medical education programs are some of the most widely distributed within the Faculty of Medicine consisting of faculty appointees and trainees located within each of British Columbia’s Health Authorities.

The Department’s faculty organizational structure includes 5 Divisions and 12 Programs, in addition to the Department’s Education Programs. The main departmental offices are located centrally at the Detwiller Pavilion on the Point Grey Campus and Diamond Health Care Centre at Vancouver General Hospital – Oak St. Campus Site. Department members are located throughout the province in all of UBC’s distributed sites.